Opening channels #6

I attended a conference recently exploring Transactional Analysis and existentialism.  The idea was to explore and discuss working with clients and acknowledging the four challenges of existing – meaninglessness, aloneness, freedom and death.  This could have made for a really bleak day.  I could be wondering what it’s all about and whether there is a point to doing what I’m doing.  I’m still getting my head around this but what I came away with was

I’m OK

As my understanding of being here is mine and mine alone, I have the freedom to make of it what I will.  The way I make meaning around being here is mine and I am not obliged to explain it or apologise to anyone else.

I will die and so my experience of this living will die with me and that’s OK too.  I am free to make a meaning for myself out of today.  I am fully in control of my experience and understanding of this moment.  And I can bloody well get on with it without having to consider what anyone else makes of my experience.

As I said – I’m still getting my head around it all.  I’m guessing that it doesn’t matter if I ever make it make sense and  I’ll come back to this I’m sure.

Leave a Reply

